Break Out



Holidays are always a reminder that I don’t abide by other people’s expectations on my life or my family. 

We really don’t celebrate any holiday traditionally. Thanksgiving is cuddling on the sectional with frozen pizza and ice cream watching a kiddo movie together because dad works. We don’t get visits from the Easter bunny, because we celebrate Jesus’ resurrection. For Halloween we trunk or treat sometimes but always buy our favorite candies on clearance the next day and have our own celebration (besides, who wants the cheapo candy that people hand out when you can pick exactly what you want?!). Christmas isn’t just about gifts. It’s about Jesus’ birthday, church family and quality time. 

I’ve taken a lot of grief since I started a family 14 years ago because I do things differently. But, let me tell ya, I wouldn’t have it any other way. Family means something different to me than most people. And contrary to opinions about it, it broadens my love and the love we receive. We spend time and energy on people who actually PICKED US!!! Instead of feeling like I’m imposing on people who are “stuck” with us. We smile more. We laugh more. We create precious and joy filled memories. We aren’t perfect and I’m not saying your traditions aren’t valuable and that you shouldn’t continue them… if that’s what you decide to do. But you should not be judged if you decide not to.
People get freaked out when others break out of a mold that it seems you should fit into. This doesn’t say anything about you. You break that dang mold if you wanna! It took up until today, right now, that I realized breaking out has always caused anxiety for me because of other people’s opinion of it. When I counsel people I’m always telling them not to have unrealistic expectations on people or relationships. This goes in vice versa. Don’t feel you need to live up to other people’s expectations on you. 
If Thanksgiving is turkey and dressing to you, fantastic! If it looks like serving at a soup kitchen with your kiddos, amazing! If it looks like us with junk food and cuddles, superb! Do what makes your love and joy grow and that fills your families love tank. Do it confidently with pride and peace. 
Happy Thanksgiving, from me and my guys to your family! We are greatly blessed and wish you great blessings. 

Leave a comment